Welcome back friends 🙂 Anyone else need a little extra coffee this morning?! Hallelujah it’s FRIDAY.unnamed
In order to keep my sanity every week and make sure I’m fueling my family’s bodies with good food (mostly), I have to meal plan. Every Thursday evening I do my very best to put together a plan for the following Sunday – Monday and I wanted to share it with you. Sometimes the plan is in limbo for a couple days but is ALWAYS done by Saturday night because my hubby and son do the grocery shopping Sunday mornings…which means I have to have a list by then!

For the past, I don’t know, four years (holy moly!) I have based my meal planning around Gina’s recipes at skinnytaste.com. When I did 21 day fix, I also picked up some favorites from Beachbody and Beachbody bloggers. BUT I’ve been itching to try new things and I figured, why not now?! Best part is, you get to try a whole bunch of new food bloggers vicariously through me! And, being the nerd that I am, I will probably spreadsheet this little research effort of mine. Spreadsheets make my heart happy 😛

But first, here’s my logic. I pull out my calendar and my planner and make sure everything I have for the next week is on it. Next weekend is special with some BBQs, but Sunday through Friday is a pretty standard summer week for me (aka, not a ton on it). Also, I don’t like to plan Saturday meals in the summer. That way, if someone says “Hey Abby, let’s go do something!” I can say “Yes!” rather than “Sorry, I have food in my fridge I don’t want to spoil.” You’ll see Wednesday has T.O. Take Out once a week is always on the calendar for dinner and it’s typically Weds because that’s what works best with our lives and ability to grocery shop.

Here’s next week’s meal plan:
Displaying 20170623_080253.jpg
Breakfast for myself and the hubs:
Greek Yogurt
Fresh fruit
Bare Naked Vanilla Almond Granola
COFFEE
(I eat the same thing every day for a week at least. This keeps mornings running smoothly and the grocery list slightly less crazy.)
Breakfast for C:
Overnight Oats by me 🙂
Fresh fruit
Plain Greek Yogurt upon request.

Lunch:
Summer Glow Buddha Bowl by OhSheGlows
(I also meal prep the same lunch for a minimum of four days of the week. The remainder of the week is filled in with dinner left overs and the odd lunch on the run)
C often eats leftovers and various other odds and ends but I always offer him some of my lunch too. If we’re eating the same things there is often less complaining from both of us.

Snacks:
I’m keeping it simple and sticking with an apple and PB or a Larabar this week. C will also snack on fresh tomatoes from the garden if we get any – today he got lucky and had some!
unnamed (1)
Sunday:
Korean – Inspired Lettuce Wraps from Skinnytaste Fast and Slow Cookbook
Cucumber Salad by me 🙂
5164d3+QNYL._SX401_BO1,204,203,200_

Monday:
Spicy Asian Grilled Chicken from Everyday Maven
Instant Pot Brown Rice by me 🙂
Grilled Broccoli also by me 🙂
(For anything this week “by me”, I’ll write down what I do so if it’s super successful I can share. I have taught myself a few things about cooking and love to occasionally wing it.)

Tuesday
Vegetable Quesadillas + Easy Slow Cooker Refried Beans by 100 Days of Real Food
(Tuesday is a great day to go meatless. That way when I shop on Sunday, I don’t have questionable meat by Tuesday!)

Wednesday
TAKE OUT or Meet Daddy for Dinner Night!
Although we MIGHT throw together some french bread pizzas and watch part of Frozen with baby C (I only let him watch 30 min MAX at a time, once or twice a week…so it takes a while to get through a movie).

Thursday – Grocery Day
Tapenade Stuffed Burger by Autoimmune Wellness
Grilled Asparagus and Grape Tomatoes by me 🙂
(MOST of the time, if we’re firing up the grill, I try to cook the majority of the meal on it. Less dishes = happier everyone.)

Friday
Slow Cooker Turkey Zucchini Meatballs from Skinnytaste Fast and Slow Cookbook
DeLallo Pasta (I mention the brand here because it’s SO GOOD. C likes the orecchiette “hats”)
Roasted Brussels Sprouts by me 🙂

Image result for delallo orecchiette
This picture is from the DeLallo website. I am using it so you can more easily find this product in your market.

Saturday
BBQ at a friend’s house. I do have to bring a dish. Any ideas?!

I also am adding a special meal planning category for the purpose of this blog. “Cooking with C”. This week, C and I will be making Whole Wheat Lemon Raspberry Muffins from 100 Days of Real Food. I’ll post about our successes or troubles baking together. It should be fun!

Until next time.

